Get an Express Pass
Express Pass License & Use Agreement
Clean Fuel Vehicle Decal and Permit
Readers at several locations along the Express Lanes detect in-vehicle Express Passes as they travel through the zones. After you exit the Express Lanes, your account will be charged the price in effect when you first entered each zone.
The Utah Transportation Commission and the Utah State Legislature approved the minimum and maximum rates of 25 cents and $1. Rates are based on traffic analysis and similar programs in other states. The maximum rate may be adjusted with permission from the Utah Legislature and Transportation Commission depending on public demand.
As always, carpoolers, buses, C Decal vehicles and motorcycles are the first priority in the Express Lanes and continue to use them without charge.
Yes. Express Pass customers are responsible for a $2.85 per month administrative cost to maintain an Express Pass account.
These costs affect account holders in different ways depending on how frequently they use their Express Pass each month.
Trailers and vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of more than 12,000 pounds are not allowed in the Express Lanes. Vehicles over 12,000 pounds are also not allowed in the adjacent passing lane.
Higher speeds in the Express Lanes help drivers have a more predictable commute. Drivers save an average of 10 minutes when they drive the length of the Express Lane during peak traffic times. Maintaining higher speeds in the Express Lanes encourages carpooling, which is the first priority of the lanes.
The new system will ensure that the lanes carry their maximum capacity, freeing space in the general travel lanes while maintaining speeds of at least 55 mph. The Express Lanes carry twice as many people as general travel lanes during peak traffic times because of carpoolers.
The Express Lanes are divided into six payment zones that vary in length:
UDOT is conducting an environmental study to look at adding Express Lanes north of Layton Parkway.
Other states that implemented similar access points to their Express Lanes found that speeds actually increased in their Express Lanes. Research showed that motorists in the Express Lanes drive slower when the traffic in the lane next to them is moving at a significantly slower pace. Drivers moving at freeway speeds in the Express Lanes are expecting that a vehicle in the congested, adjacent lane will pull out in front of them. Dedicated access points minimize this concern, giving Express Lane users confidence to travel at freeway speeds without the fear of someone pulling out in front of them.
Only carpools, motorcycles, buses, C Decal vehicles, emergency vehicles and solo drivers with an Express Pass are eligible to use the Express Lanes.
The Utah Highway Patrol watches specifically for motorists who are driving too slow, driving too fast, tailgating or exhibiting other Express Lane violations. This includes drivers in the general-purpose lanes who fail to allow drivers in the Express Lanes to merge.
All UHP troopers enforce the Express Lane laws.
The following table shows the monthly number of stops UHP troopers made for an Express Lane violation; a vehicle crossing the double white lines or and HOV violation.
Copyright © 2009 State of Utah - All rights reserved.