Enhancement projects work to expand transportation choices and improve communities. They include trail projects, scenic byway improvements, landscaping and historic preservation.

The Federal Highway Administration outlines the following twelve enhancement eligible activities:

  1. Provision of facilities for pedestrians and bicycles.
  2. Provision of safety and educational activities for pedestrians and bicyclists.
  3. Acquisition of scenic easements and scenic or historic sites.
  4. Scenic or historic highway programs (including the provision of tourist and welcome center facilities).
  5. Landscaping and other scenic beautification.
  6. Historic preservation.
  7. Rehabilitation and operation of historic transportation buildings, structures, or facilities.
  8. Preservation of abandoned railway corridors (including the conversion and use of the corridors for pedestrian or bicycle trails).
  9. Inventory, control, and removal of outdoor advertising.
  10. Archaeological planning and research.
  11. Environmental mitigation to address water pollution due to highway runoff; or to reduce vehicle-caused wildlife mortality while maintaining habitat connectivity.
  12. Establishment of transportation museums.