A 7207 SPECIAL EVENT PERMIT PROGRAM

SEWAVE Keeping Utah Moving PERMIT FEE ADJUSTMENT NOTIFICATION

State Law Requirement: During Utah’s 2015 Legislative Session new legislation was enacted to aid the State in more effec-
tively administering the Department’s Statewide Special Event Permitting Program. This new state law is known as HB 289. In
part, the state law requires the Department to operate this program in a cost-neutral manner:

“The department shall adopt a fee schedule in accordance with Section 63J-1-504 that reflects the cost of services provided by
the department associated with special use permits and with special uses or special events that take place on a highway.”

As a result of this legislation, the following permit fees go into effect on:

MONDAY, AUGUST 157, 2016

Count Special Event Fee Types Adjusted Fee
1 (Single Region) Special Event Application Fee $250
2 (Multi-Region) Special Event Application Fee $500
3 Expedited Review Fee* (<30 Days Notice + Complete Application) $600
4 Event Coordination, Inspection, and Monitoring (regular hours) $60/hr
5 Event Coordination, Inspection, and Monitoring (non-regular hours) $80/hr
NOTES: All special event fees are non-refundable review fees
" | *This fee is in addition to the appropriate Special Event Review Fee

RECOMMENDED COST-CONTAINMENT STRATEGIES & CONSIDERATIONS

Avoid last minute planning and application submission: A number of local governments and other State DOT’s require a
lot more lead time to submit a completed application than the 30-days required by the administrative rule that governs this
permitting program (R920-4-3(2)). With that in mind, early planning and engagement with the Department can largely
eliminate the need to pay the Expedited Review Fee.

Take advantage of the dual-use liability insurance provisions in R920-4-9 : This section of the governing administrative
rule enables event organizers to use the same liability insurance policy that is used to obtain a special event permit from the
respective local government. By planning ahead, and carefully following the provisions as outlined in this administrative
rule section, event organizers can present a single Certificate of Insurance where two separate policies were required in the
past.

Consider alternative routes: The State of Utah has many picturesque highways, not all of which are state highways. If a
special event can be conducted on a non-state highway then a UDOT permit is not required.

Develop a true-cost perspective: It can be helpful to keep in mind a true-cost perspective. For example, a special event
application review fee for an application completed 30-days in advance of the proposed event date, in a single region, with
250 participants, effectively costs $1 per participant. Using the same scenario in conjunction with a multi-region event, the
effective application review fee is $2 per participant.

Become familiar with all program requirements and UDOT’s professional region permitting operations staff: The
more familiar you are with this program and the great people running it at the operations level the better. To this end, you
are encouraged to review the program website located here: www.udot.utah.gov/go/specialevents. More specifically, please
review the required STEP ONE: Application Checklist. For additional information regarding this program please contact
the appropriate Region Permitting Operations Office available here: www.udot.utah.gov/go/PermitsContact.
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http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r920/r920-004.htm#T3
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r920/r920-004.htm#T9
http://www.udot.utah.gov/go/specialevents
http://www.udot.utah.gov/main/uconowner.gf?n=26476019193290779
http://www.udot.utah.gov/go/PermitsContact

