1. UDOT
  2. DOT & Safety Regulations
  3. Utah Code for Motor Carriers
  4. Intrastate Definition Change

Intrastate Definition Change

Effective May 5, 2021

2021 H.B. 137 – Intrastate Commercial Vehicle Amendments

Utah Code

Title 72 – Transportation Code

Chapter 9 – Motor Carrier Safety Act

Part 1 – General Provisions

Section 102 – Definitions (Effective 5/5/2021)

(3) “Intrastate commercial vehicle” means a motor vehicle, vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer used or maintained for business, compensation, or profit to transport passengers or
property on a highway only within the boundaries of this state if the commercial vehicle:
(a) (i) has a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight
 rating of [10,001] 26,000 or more pounds[;] and is operated by an individual who is 18 years
 old or older; or
 (ii) has a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating
 of 16,001 or more pounds and is operated by an individual who is under 18 years old;
(b) (i) is designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver; or
(ii) is designed to transport more than 12 passengers, including the driver, and has a
manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating of 13,000 or
more pounds; or
(c) is used in the transportation of hazardous materials and is required to be placarded
in accordance with 49 C.F.R. Part 172, Subpart F.