2. About Us
  3. Director and Deputy Directors

Director and Deputy Directors

Executive Director Carlos Braceras and Deputy Directors Teri Newell and Lisa Wilson guide the Department in efforts to follow UDOT’s vision to Keep Utah Moving. To accomplish this vision they focus on three strategic goals of zero crashes, injuries and fatalities; preserving infrastructure; and optimizing mobility. Through their leadership UDOT works to implement innovative and efficient solutions to help solve the transportation problems Utah faces.

Contact Information


4501 South 2700 West
P.O. Box 141265
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1265

Executive Leadership & Assistants Contact Information

Carlos Braceras
Executive Director

Diane Josie
Executive Assistant
Teri Newell
Deputy Director of Planning & Investment

Becky Lewis
Executive Assistant
Lisa Wilson
Deputy Director of Engineering & Operations

Eileen McCown
Executive Assistant
Gwen Avila

Jennifer Kirkham

Tessie Lords

Directors' Office Event Participation Request

Carlos Braceras, Teri Newell, and/or Lisa Wilson speak at a variety of events about UDOT and the transportation industry. To request their participation at your event please email djosie@utah.gov, emccown@utah.gov and blewis@utah.gov with information about the event including:
  • Brief description
  • Who will be in attendance
  • Date and time
  • Location
  • Agenda

Tools & Resources

Biographical Information

Carlos Braceras, P.E, Executive Director

Utah Governor Gary Herbert appointed Carlos Braceras to serve as Utah Department of Transportation executive director on May 6, 2013. Former UDOT Executive Director John Njord appointed Braceras to deputy director in May 2001. At the time, he was the director of UDOT’s Region 3.

Braceras also worked on the Legacy Parkway/I-15 North Project, where he was responsible for development of the environmental documents, design–build contracts, and construction of both facilities. In 1998, he was named “State of Utah Governor’s Manager of the Year” and received the “UDOT Leader of the Year” award.

Braceras received a Bachelor’s degree in geology from the University of Vermont and a Bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Utah.

He currently serves as chair of the AASHTO Design Subcommittee, chair of the Center for Environmental Excellence Advisory Board, chair of the TRB Executive Committee, member of the board of directors and past president of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, member of the board of directors and past president of the Western Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, past chair of ITS America, and past chair of RUC West.

Twitter: @CarlosUDOT
Linkedin: www.linkedin.com/in/CarlosUDOT

Teri Newell, P.E, Deputy Director of Planning and Investment

Teri was named Deputy Director in April 2018 to help guide the department as it moves to address issues relating to Utah’s growing population, advances in technology and the evolution of the transportation industry. 

Prior to her role as deputy director Teri served as UDOT’s Region Three director for five years and was responsible for the construction and maintenance of state roads in Utah, Juab, Wasatch, Duchesne, Uintah and Daggett Counties. Before heading up Region Three Teri spent 10 years taking Mountain View Corridor from a concept, through the environmental process, to completion of the initial phases.

Prior to joining UDOT, Teri was the Operations Director for Salt Lake County and held other positions in the private sector. She is a native of Iowa, and received her Civil Engineering Degree from Iowa State University.

Instagram: @udotpathways_teri

Lisa Wilson, P.E, Deputy Director of Engineering and Operations

In December of 2020, Lisa was appointed UDOT Deputy Director of Engineering and Operations. A graduate of Utah State University, she has been with the Department since 1998, most recently working as Region Director in UDOT Region Two. She has also served as Region Director in Region One, Deputy Director in Region Two, Preconstruction Director, Region Two Program Manager and Project Manager.