1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Operations Group
  4. Aeronautics Division

Aeronautics Division

About us

The primary purpose of the Aeronautics Division is to lead and manage a statewide transportation system of airports, aircraft, and air routes. The Division of Aeronautics promotes the quality of life framework established by the UVision for good health, better mobility, a strong economy, and connected communities. We accomplish this through six core functions.

Core Functions

  1. Airport System Planning
  2. Aviation Rule Making
  3. Airport Project Funding
  4. Aircraft Registration
  5. Aviation Promotion
  6. Aviation Safety

Vision

Elevate Life

The State of Utah’s motto is “Life Elevated” at the Division of Aeronautics. We “Elevate Life” for Utah residents by creating an aviation system that connects communities in every corner of the state.

Mission

  1. Integrate Aviation into the Transportation System
  2. Enhance Community Economy
  3. Lead Utah into the Future of Aerial Transportation

Points of Contact

Jared Esselman, A.A.E.
Aeronautics Director
Email:  jesselman@utah.gov
Office: 801-715-2260
Cell: 301-575-7915

Amber Pace
Support Services
Email:  apace@utah.gov
Office: 801-715-2272
Cell: 801-673-5403

Martin Shupe
Aircraft Registrations
Email:  mwshupe@utah.gov
Office: 801-715-2264
Cell: 385-522-3821

Greg Peterson
Chief Pilot
Email:  ggpeterson@utah.gov
Office: 801-715-2269
Cell: 801-403-8423

John Gatherum
Aircraft Pilot
Email:  jgatherum@utah.gov
Office: 801-715-2275
Cell: 435-760-3112

Pete Glines
Aircraft Maintenance 
Email:  pglines@utah.gov
Office: 801-715-2267
Cell:  801-599-7126

Craig Ide, P.E.
NPIAS Asset Manager
Email: cide@utah.gov 
Office: 801-715-2274
Cell: 801-209-6772

Matt Swapp, P.E.
Aviation Capital Improvements Planner
Email:  mswapp@utah.gov
Office: 801-715-2264
Cell: 385-522-3821

Paul Damron
Advanced Air Mobility / Non NPIAS Asset Manager
Email:   pdamron@utah.gov
Office:
Cell:  435-592-5139

Scott Romney
Comms, Workforce Development, Emergency Response Manager
Email:  scottromney@utah.gov
Office:
Cell:



Quick Links

Events