1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Operations Division
  4. Aeronautics Division

Aeronautics Division

About us

The primary purpose of the Aeronautics Division is to lead and manage a statewide transportation system of airports, aircraft, and air routes. The Division of Aeronautics promotes the quality of life framework established by the UVision for good health, better mobility, a strong economy, and connected communities. We accomplish this through six core functions.

Core Functions

  1. Airport System Planning
  2. Aviation Rule Making
  3. Airport Project Funding
  4. Aircraft Registration
  5. Aviation Promotion
  6. Aviation Safety

Vision

Elevate Life

The State of Utah’s motto is “Life Elevated;” at the Division of Aeronautics, we “Elevate Life” for Utah residents by creating an aviation system that connects communities in every corner of the state.

Mission

  1. Integrate Aviation into the Transportation System
  2. Enhance Community Economy
  3. Lead Utah into the Future of Aerial Transportation

Points of Contact

Aeronautics Contacts

Aeronautics Director – Jared Esselman

jesselman@utah.gov



Support Services – Amber Pace

apace@utah.gov


Aircraft Registration – Martin Shupe

mwshupe@utah.gov


Chief Pilot – Rex Mayer

rmayer@utah.gov


Aircraft Maintenance – Pete Glines

pglines@utah.gov


Airport Capital Improvement Program – Matt Swapp

mswapp@utah.gov


Airports Engineer – Craig Ide

cide@utah.gov

Airport System Planning | Economic Development – Clint Harper

charper@utah.gov


Unmanned Aircraft Systems | Advanced Air Mobility – Paul Wheeler

pwheeler@utah.gov

Quick Links

Events