Utah Based Aircraft Registration
UDOT’s Division of Aeronautics welcomes aircraft owners and aviators to Utah’s Aircraft Registration Portal!
*NEW* For 2020 and beyond, Utah will not issue or use Aircraft Registration Decals!
- Aircraft registration fees are based on the Average Wholesale Value in accordance with Utah Code Title 72-10-110.
- Aircraft registration fees are based on the Average Wholesale Value of the aircraft as published in the current edition of the Aircraft Bluebook Price Digest.
The Division of Aeronautics will determine the correct registration fees for our customers.
If you’ve received a notice to renew or establish your 2020 Utah Aircraft Registration, Utah’s Division of Aeronautics welcomes you to Utah Aeronautics Online Registration Portal!
For Account Details & Payment
For brand new owners establishing new registrations for the first time on an aircraft, of if you qualify to register for less than the full 2020 calendar year, the following may apply:
- Do not pay in full
- The annual State Uniform Fee is $25, as required by law
If you received a renewal notice and are no longer the current owner of the aircraft. Please email a copy of the Bill of Sale to email@example.com.
Questions or Help
First-time Registrations Using Online Portal
7 Steps to Register
- Create your account using specific email address and password Pay Your Bill
- Add currently FAA registered aircraft to your account.
Multiple aircraft, even of different types may be added without limit.
-From here, Utah registrations must be processed and paid for individually per FAA N-number
- Update Owner address, email, phone number and billing info. Business owners may add a 2nd email & 2nd billing address to your Utah registration account. -Note: The FAA registration record owner address and data is used as primary.
- Select your aircraft’s primary Airport location and effective dates.
-Note: An aircraft’s location may be multiple locations and/or multiple periods within the state of Utah.
- Review aircraft value, assessed Utah registration fee, and $25 uniform fee.
- Pay total fees with credit card or e-check. Confirm transaction success.
- Verify details on the generated Utah Aircraft Registration certificate; then Print your certificate.
-NOTE, Owners of multiple aircraft will re-enter this checklist at step-2
What Do Utah Aircraft Registration Fees Provide?
- Registration & Uniform Fee payments literally “Pave the Way” to improve all of Utah’s 46 public airports by providing eligibility in national FAA and State Grant programs paying up to 96.3% of projects costs! Nowhere else can an owner’s aviation expense provide such an outstanding return on their investment!
- Per Utah Code, registration payments may only be used for airport construction improvements. No other use is permitted or allowed for by law!
- In 2018, Reconstruction for the single runway at Hurricane Utah, cost $2.9M w/Aeronautics registration & other state fees contributing only $145K!
- Individual aircraft owners are making Utah airports safer and better destinations to travel “To And From”- One construction project at a time!
- Aircraft owner registration payments for Grant program eligibility are absolutely critical to improving Utah airports!
- Uniform Fee payments also remain within the County for tailored County apportionment!
Pay Current Fees
- If an owner is applying for an FAA registration the first time, insure this form is completed and on-file with the FAA: Aircraft Registration Application, AC Form 8050-1.
- If an owner requires an FAA change of address or other info, complete the FAA form: Aircraft Owner Change of Address Notification Form.
- If you have additional updates before FAA records are current, please visit: https://www.faa.gov/licenses_certificates/aircraft_certification/aircraft_registry/– Once FAA records are accurate, proceed with Utah aircraft registration starting here: Utah Aircraft Registration – After your account is created, owner and aircraft data entered, fee payments are processed via credit card or E-check, you’ll be able to print your annual Utah Aircraft Registration Certificate.
Agency Action Requests
- Delay processing payments until after your Appeal is evaluated; and;
- SELECT and INITIATE a Request for Agency Action so Aeronautics can evaluate your request (Appeal) and;
- Provide supporting documentation to justify your Request for Agency Action.
Reduced Rate Categories
- Aircraft used for Air Charter Services pay 0.25% of the average wholesale value for a registration fee if they qualify for Air Charter Service requirements.
- Other aircraft are assessed a $100 registration fee under the following categories:
- – Aircraft owned by an IRS approved
- Tax Exempt 501(c)3 entity
- – Aircraft used for emergency
- of patients greater than 95% of time
- – Aircraft older than
- will use the lessor of $100 or 0.4% of the average wholesale value
- – Aircraft that are not able to be valued by the Aeronautics Division.
- Registration Fee violations:– Seizure: 41-1a-1101, 41-1a-1301, and 41-1a-1307. – Class B Misdemeanor: $1,000 fine, up to 6 months in jail. See 72-10-120.
- Uniform Fee Violations: See Utah Codes 59-2-405, 59-2-405.1, 59-2-405.2, 59-2-405.3, 59-10-13, and 72-10-110.5.
- Utah Aeronautical LawsSee Utah Code, Title 72-10
Sales Tax for Utah Aircraft
- (801) 297-4758
- (801) 297-4670
- (801) 297-4753
- Where do I pay my registration bill?
- What if my aircraft is not listed in the quarterly Aircraft Bluebook Price Digest?
- What if my info as the aircraft owner changes? First, Owners must update their records with the FAA by: – filing a new Aircraft Registration Application, FAA Aircraft Registration Application, AC Form 8050-1 – filing an Aircraft Owner Change of Address,FAA Aircraft Owner Change of Address Form – Or by contacting the FAA for additional instructions at FAA Aircraft Registration Then, proceed with Utah aircraft registration for first-time Users starting here: First-time Aircraft Registrations
- What if I’ve sold my aircraft?– Sellers must complete and file an FAA Aircraft Bill of Sale form FAA Form AC 8050-2 – UDOT Aeronautics requires a copy of the filed FAA AC Form 8050-2 including all buyers and sellers information be uploaded in your account. (highlights are for you ref only. Please do not highlight on web pages)
- What if I just purchased or acquired an aircraft??– You may be eligible for a monthly Pro-rated Utah registration but must review additional requirements listed in the First Time Aircraft Registration above. – Before operation in Utah airspace you must comply with Utah Code Title 72-10-110
- What if I want to Print a Utah Aircraft Registration Certificate?If this year’s Aircraft registration fees are already paid and you need a certificate, please follow the steps below:
- Create or log-in to your account starting here: Utah Aircraft Registration
- Certificate printing is available only for currently paid Utah aircraft registrations.
- Certificates may be printed at any time and without limitation; after logging into your account and selecting an aircraft registered within your account.
- Valid Utah aircraft registration certificates must contain both a Certificate Number and a unique Transaction Receipt Tracking code.- If either or both of these items are missing, contact Utah Aeronautics for assistance at (801) 715-2264 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org
- A printed certificate must be maintained with your aircraft or its operator.Pilot Tip! – Consider saving a copy of the .pdf certificate in your E-Flight bag for added flexibility.
- What other Utah Fees or Taxes am I responsible for?– Utah DOT/Aeronautics only requires the Registration and a State Uniform fee be paid each calendar year. – For other Utah Tax considerations, Visit: https://tax.utah.gov/ – Aircraft Self Review Summary and Tax Commission Form TC-828 are regularly used pages.
- What if I don’t have a credit card to use with the online payment program??– Owners must use the online registration program to initiate and create their account for Utah aircraft registrations. – If an owner does not have a credit card or a personal financial account to process an electronic payment (or E-Check), they will have to make satisfactory arrangements with their local financial institution to get a payment processed with the division of Aeronautics. – Owners may contact our division using the info located on this link: Aeronautics Home Page
- What if I’m a joint owner of a Utah based aircraft?– The owner listed on the FAA Registration certificate is the responsible party.
- What if the aircraft’s FAA Air Worthiness Certificate is invalid?– Aircraft without a valid Air Worthiness certificate, under repair and are incomplete; are not required to pay the annual Utah Registration fee or the state uniform fee. However, before operation in Utah airspace you must comply with Utah Code Title 72-10-110.
- What if I:
- Qualify for one of the reduced rate categories listed in First-time Aircraft Registrations;
- Disagree with the Average Wholesale Value used in determining fees;
- Disagree with the penalties assessed?
- Under Utah law, fees are computed in accordance with Utah Title 72-10-110. If you are: Registering for the first time as a new owner Qualify for a reduced rate category Are renewing your already reduced rate category registration from the previous year Disagree with values used in determining fees Disagree with penalties assessed Disagree for any other reason You Must: – Initiate a “Request for Agency Action” within 30-days of creating your registration account or receiving your Letter of Notification for Aircraft Registration. – Delay registration fee payment, until your case is decided. If your case is denied, Late Fee Penalties may be added to your account. SeeTitle 72-10-112 – Requests for Agency Action comply with Utah Administrative Rule R914-4 in accordance with Title 63G-(3), Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.
For questions or help, please contact Martin Shupe, Aircraft Registration Program Manager.