1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Operations Division
  4. Motor Carrier Division

Motor Carrier Division

The Strategic Goals of the Motor Carrier Division are:

ZERO CRASHES, INJURIES AND FATALITIES INVOLVING LARGE TRUCKS AND BUSES

  • UDOT Motor Carrier Division is committed to safety, and we won’t rest until we achieve zero crashes, zero injuries and zero fatalities invoving large trucks and buses. 

PRESERVE INFRASTRUCTURE

  • We believe good roads cost less, and through proactive size and weight observation & enforcement we maximize the value of our infrastructure investment for today and the future.

OPTIMIZE MOBILITY

  • UDOT Motor Carrier Division optimizes large truck and bus traffic mobility by offering Port of Entry bypass opportunites and incorporating innovative technology and traffic management strategies.

We partner and work closely with the United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), and in partnership with the Utah Highway Patrol (UHP) in administering and enforcing the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) and Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMRs).

In collaboration with FMCSA, UDOT Motor Carrier Division Safety Investigators conduct on-site and off-site investigations and safety audits. These consist of reviewing a motor carrier’s records to ensure that a carrier or shipper has adequate safety controls in place that are in compliance with applicable Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations(FMCSR’s) Hazardous Material Regulations (HMR’s). Investigations include doing vehicle inspections when appropriate.  

UDOT’s Ports of Entry are located strategically across the state, while 8 are staffed full time, we have some that are staffed on a random basis with help from the Utah Highway Patrol. Ports of Entry have many functions, one very important function is the protection of our roads and infrastructure that require vehicles to be in compliance with size and weight regulations. Motor Carrier staff also conduct Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) inspections, that consist of driver only as well as vehicle inspections. These inspections are designed to increase the safety of our roads and the people who travel upon them.

Motor Carrier Contacts

Chad Sheppick, Motor Carrier Division Director

(801) 965-4156
csheppick@utah.gov



Rick Clark, Operations Manager

Highway Preservation
(801) 965-4528
rcclark@utah.gov


Lane Murphy, Operations Manager

Safety
(801) 965-4105
lmurphy@utah.gov


Tamy Scott, Operations Manager

Investigations, Tow Trucks
(801) 965-4794
tamyscott@utah.gov


Stephen Goodrich, Operations Manager

Business Systems, Grant Management, Customer Relations
(801) 965-4637
sgoodrich@utah.gov


Travis Bowen, Supervisor

Daniels Port of Entry, U.S. HWY 40, Milepost 22
(435) 654-1091
(435) 654-0123 FAX
tbowen@utah.gov


Kari Kilbourn, Supervisor

Gary Cox, Supervisor
Echo Port of Entry, Interstate 80, Milepost 180 (Utah/Wyoming Border)
(801) 336-5286
(801) 336-5288 FAX
kkilbourn@utah.gov
gcox@utah.gov


Kenneth Broadhead, Supervisor

Kanab Port of Entry, U.S. HWY 89, Milepost 67
(435) 644-5871
(435) 644-5865 FAX
kennethb@utah.gov


Doug Christiansen, Supervisor

Monticello Port of Entry, U.S. HWY 491, Milepost 2
(435) 587-2662
(435) 587-3427 FAX
dougchristiansen@utah.gov


John Kelley, Supervisor

Peerless Port of Entry, U.S. HWY 6, Milepost 231
(435) 472-3401
(435) 472-8280 FAX
jekelley@utah.gov


Howard Trexler, Supervisor

Anthony Meier, Supervisor
Perry Port of Entry, Interstate 15, Milepost 358.8
(435) 734-9414
(435) 723-2327 FAX
htrexler@utah.gov
ameier@utah.gov


Kerry Kendall, Supervisor

Todd Curtis, Supervisor
St. George Port of Entry, Interstate 15, Milepost 1 (Utah/Arizona Border)
(435) 673-9651
(435) 628-8322 FAX
kkendall@utah.gov
tcurtis@utah.gov


Kaylena Pizzo, Supervisor

Roberto Pinedo, Supervisor
Wendover Port of Entry, Interstate 80, Milepost 3 (Utah/Nevada Border)
(435) 665-2274
(435) 628-8322 FAX
kpizzo@utah.gov
rpinedo@utah.gov


Andy Platt, Supervisor

Safety Investigations
(435) 459-0234
(801) 965-4899 FAX
aplatt@utah.gov


Mike Patterson, Supervisor

Safety Investigations
(385) 226-3749
(801) 965-4899 FAX
mpatterson1@utah.gov



Jacob Glover, Supervisor

Customer Relations/Superload Team
(801) 965-4892
(801) 965-4847 FAX
jglover@utah.gov

Motor Carrier Customer Service


Motor Carrier Division
4501 South 2700 West
Box 148240
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-8240

(801) 965-4892
(866) 215-5399
(801) 965-4847 FAX
mccustomerservice@utah.gov

Hours: Monday – Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Contact Motor Carrier Customer Service for assistance with:
• Permit Requests
• Construction Restrictions
• LCV Application Request
• Port Bypass Program Info
• Routing Assistance
• Unified Carrier Registration Info
• STE Profile Sheet Information

NOTICE:
Because of additional processing requirements, loads more than 17′ 6″ in Height, 17’in Width, or over 300,000 lbs. will only be processed Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mountain Standard Time, and may take up to 3 Days for approval.

Motor Carriers Organization Chart (pdf)