1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Project Development Division
  4. Preconstruction Division

Preconstruction Division


UDOT Preconstruction provides tools, training and support to ensure project success from design through completion.

Fred Doehring
Director of Preconstruction
Email: fdoehring@utah.gov
Cell: (801) 633-6215



Vacant
Administrative Secretary
Email: @utah.gov
Office: 801 965-4398
Cell:

Design and Standards


Manages the UDOT standards process, provides estimate support services, and directs the development of the emerging Digital Delivery process.

Contact Information:

George Lukes
Design and Standards Engineer
Email: glukes@utah.gov
Office: 801-965-4986
Cell: 801-633-8186

Vacant
Digital Delivery/Digital Twin Advancement
Email: @utah.gov
Office: 801-964-4456
Mobile:

Bob Peterson
CADD Manager
Email: bobpeterson@utah.gov
Office: 801-965-4041
Cell: 801-633-9778

James Buckley
CADD Technician
Email: jbuckley@utah.gov
Office: 801-965-4662
Cell: 801-671-7535

Brad Yeates
Standards and Specifications
Email: bbyeates@utah.gov
Cell: 385-315-3872

Riley Lindsay
Statewide Design and Project Support Surveyor
Email: rlindsay@utah.gov
Office: 435-893-4732
Cell: 435-201-1242

Ariel Froerer
BIM Specialist
Email: afroerer@utah.gov
Cell: 801-821-0467

Drainage Design/Hydraulics


Oversees the hydraulics program and serves as a resource for UDOT regions.

Contact Information:

Brandon Cox
Statewide Hydraulics Engineer
Email: brandoncox@utah.gov
Cell: 801-550-2960

Vaughn Nelson
Statewide Design Engineer
Email: vanelson@utah.gov
Cell: 801-910-2031

Project Management



Provides tools and training for project managers’ teams.

Contact Information:

Branden Anderson
Statewide Project / Program Management Engineer
Email: branden@utah.gov
Cell: 435-619-0098

Right of Way Design



Develops and maintains processes and standards for the description of property needed for UDOT projects.

Contact Information:

James Olschewski
Statewide Right of Way Design Program Engineer
Email: jolschewski@utah.gov
Office: 801-965-4821
Cell: 801-953-4860

Roadway Design


Provides technical expertise to department and consultant designers.

Contact Information:

Vaughn Nelson
Statewide Design Engineer
Email: vanelson@utah.gov
Cell: 801-910-2031

George Lukes
Design and Standards Engineer
Email: glukes@utah.gov
Office: 801-965-4986
Cell: 801-633-8186

Transit Design


Oversees the development and implementation of standards related to transit facilities on state routes or for state-funded projects.

Contact Information:

Jim Webb
Statewide Transit Engineer
Email: jwebb@utah.gov
Cell: 801-230-7915

Utilities


Utilities Division is responsible for providing high-quality utility coordination throughout the state of Utah. Regional Utility Leaders and Coordinators work collaboratively with project teams and utility owners to identify potentially impacted utility facilities associated with UDOT’s highway projects. The regional utility staff coordinates the necessary relocation of the utility facilities employing nationwide best practices for effective utility coordination and cooperation.

Not to be confused with the Railroad Safety Division.

Contact Information:

Region One

Lincoln Port
Email: lport@utah.gov
Office: 435-851-1613

Region Two

John Bangle
Email: jbangle@utah.gov
Office: 801-975-4994

Region Three

Austin Tripp
Email: atripp@utah.gov
Office: 801-227-8020

Region Four

Jeff Albrecht
Email: jalbrecht@utah.gov
Office: 435-689-0229

Gernice White
Email: gernice@utah.gov
Office: 435-893-4764

Statewide Utilities Manager

Vacant
Email: @utah.gov
Office: 801-965-4083

Statewide Railroad

Jim Golden
Email: jimgolden@utah.gov
Cell: 801-360-0052

Statewide Railroad Engineer

Jesse Sweeten
Email: jsweeten@utah.gov
Cell: 385-306-9982