1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Project Development Group
  4. Preconstruction Division

Preconstruction Division

UDOT Preconstruction provides tools, training and support to ensure project success from design through completion.

Consultant Services


Consultant Services is responsible for the procurement and administration of design and professional services necessary for UDOT programs and projects.

Contact Information

Gaye Hettrick

Consultant Services Manager
Email: ghettrick@utah.gov
801 965-4639 • Work
801 633-6213 • Mobile

Leslie Peterson

Consultant Services Supervisor
Email: lpeterson@utah.gov
801 965-4183 • Work
801 828-5554 • Mobile

Carlie Torres

Contract Administrator
Email: catorres@utah.gov
801 965-4387 • Work
385 270-7261 • Mobile

Cali Bastow

ROW Contract Administrator
Email: cbastow@utah.gov
801 965-4274 • Work
801 707-8332 • Mobile

Audrey D’Ambrusoso

Financial Screening Analyst
Email: adambruoso@utah.gov
801 965-4138 • Work
401 374-9254 • Mobile


Design and Standards


Manages the UDOT standards process, provides estimate support services, and directs the development of the emerging Digita l Delivery process.

Contact Information

George Lukes

Design and Standards Engineer
Email: glukes@utah.gov
801 965-4986 • Work
801 633-8186 • Cell

Becky Hjelm

Technology Advancement
Email: bhjelm@utah.gov
801 964-4456 • Work
801 386-4162 • Mobile

Bob Peterson

CADD
Email: bobpeterson@utah.gov
(801) 965-4041 • Work
(801) 633-9778 • Mobile

James Buckley

CADD
Email: jbuckley@utah.gov
801 965-4662 • Work
801 671-7535 • Mobile

Brad Yeates

Standards and Specifications
Email: bbyeates@utah.gov
801 965-4807 • Work
385 315-3872 • Mobile

Drainage Design/Hydraulics


Oversees the hydraulics program and serves as a resource to the for UDOT regions.

Contact Information

Vaughn Nelson

Statewide Preconstruction Engineer
Email: vanelson@utah.gov
801 910-2031 • Cell

Brandon Cox

Statewide Hydraulics Engineer
Email: brandoncox@utah.gov
385 321-2608 • Cell

Project Management


Provides tools and training for project managers’ teams.

Contact Information

Dave Schwartz

Statewide Program / Project Management Engineer
Email: dschwartz@utah.gov
801 910-2005 • Mobile

Right of Way Design


Develops and maintains processes and standards for the description of property needed for UDOT projects.

Contact Information

James Olschewski

Email: jolschewski@utah.gov
801 965-4821 • Work
801 953-4860 • Mobile

Roadway Design

Provides technical expertise to department and consultant designers.

Contact Information

Vaughn Nelson

Statewide Preconstruction Engineer
Email: vanelson@utah.gov
801 910-2031 • Cell

George Lukes

Design and Standards Engineer
Email: glukes@utah.gov
801 965-4986 • Work
801 633-8186 • Cell

Transit Design


Oversees the development and implementation of standards related to transit facilities on state routes or for state-funded projects.

Contact Information

Jim Webb

Statewide Utilities Engineer
Email: jwebb@utah.gov
801 230-7915 • Mobile

Utilities


Utilities Division is responsible for providing high-quality utility coordination throughout the state of Utah. Regional Utility Leaders and Coordinators work collaboratively with project teams and utility owners to identify potentially impacted utility facilities associated with UDOT’s highway projects. The regional utility staff coordinates the necessary relocation of the utility facilities employing nationwide best practices for effective utility coordination and cooperation.

Not to be confused with the Railroad Safety Division.

Contact Information

Region 1

Tucker Doak
Email: jdoak@utah.gov
801-620-1660

Region 2

John Bangle
Email: jbangle@utah.gov
801-975-4994

Region 3

Austin Tripp
Email: atripp@utah.gov
801-227-8020

Region 4

Jeff Albrecht
Email: jalbrecht@utah.gov
435-893-4732

Gernice White
Email: gernice@utah.gov
435-893-4764

Statewide Utilities Director

Corey Nelson, PE, PTOE
Email: coreynelson@utah.gov
801-965-4083

Statewide Railroad

Jim Golden
Email: jimgolden@utah.gov
801-360-0052

Garret Jenson
Email: gjenson@utah.gov
(801) 910-2047

Railroad Program/State Safety Oversight