1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Project Development Group
  4. Preconstruction Division

Preconstruction Division

UDOT Preconstruction provides tools, training and support to ensure project success from design through completion.

Consultant Services



Consultant Services is responsible for the procurement and administration of design and professional services necessary for UDOT programs and projects.

Contact Information:

Gaye Hettrick
Consultant Services Manager
Email: ghettrick@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4639
Mobile: 801-633-6213

Leslie Peterson
Consultant Services Supervisor
Email: lpeterson@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4183
Mobile: 801-828-5554

Carlie Torres
Contract Administrator
Email: catorres@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4387
Mobile: 385-270-7261

Cali Bastow
ROW Contract Administrator
Email: cbastow@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4274
Mobile: 801-707-8332

Audrey D’Ambruoso
Financial Screening Analyst
Email: adambruoso@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4138
Mobile: 401-374-9254


Design and Standards


Manages the UDOT standards process, provides estimate support services, and directs the development of the emerging Digital Delivery process.

Contact Information:

George Lukes
Design and Standards Engineer
Email: glukes@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4986
Mobile: 801-633-8186

Becky Hjelm
Digital Delivery/Digital Twin Advancement
Email: bhjelm@utah.gov
Work: 801-964-4456
Mobile: 801-386-4162

Bob Peterson
CADD Manager
Email: bobpeterson@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4041
Mobile: 801-633-9778

James Buckley
CADD Technician
Email: jbuckley@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4662
Mobile: 801-671-7535

Brad Yeates
Standards and Specifications
Email: bbyeates@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4807
Mobile: 385-315-3872

Drainage Design/Hydraulics


Oversees the hydraulics program and serves as a resource for UDOT regions.

Contact Information:

Brandon Cox
Statewide Hydraulics Engineer
Email: brandoncox@utah.gov
Mobile: 801-550-2960

Vaughn Nelson
Statewide Design Engineer
Email: vanelson@utah.gov
Mobile: 801-910-2031

Project Management



Provides tools and training for project managers’ teams.

Contact Information:

Branden Anderson
Statewide Project / Program Management Engineer
Email: branden@utah.gov
Mobile: 435-619-0098

Right of Way Design



Develops and maintains processes and standards for the description of property needed for UDOT projects.

Contact Information:

James Olschewski
Email: jolschewski@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4821
Mobile: 801-953-4860

Roadway Design


Provides technical expertise to department and consultant designers.

Contact Information:

Vaughn Nelson
Statewide Preconstruction Engineer
Email: vanelson@utah.gov
Mobile: 801-910-2031

George Lukes
Design and Standards Engineer
Email: glukes@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4986
Mobile: 801-633-8186

Transit Design


Oversees the development and implementation of standards related to transit facilities on state routes or for state-funded projects.

Contact Information:

Jim Webb
Statewide Utilities Engineer
Email: jwebb@utah.gov
Mobile: 801-230-7915

Utilities


Utilities Division is responsible for providing high-quality utility coordination throughout the state of Utah. Regional Utility Leaders and Coordinators work collaboratively with project teams and utility owners to identify potentially impacted utility facilities associated with UDOT’s highway projects. The regional utility staff coordinates the necessary relocation of the utility facilities employing nationwide best practices for effective utility coordination and cooperation.

Not to be confused with the Railroad Safety Division.

Contact Information:

Region 1

Tucker Doak
Email: jdoak@utah.gov
Work: 801-620-1660

Region 2

John Bangle
Email: jbangle@utah.gov
Work: 801-975-4994

Region 3

Austin Tripp
Email: atripp@utah.gov
Work: 801-227-8020

Region 4

Jeff Albrecht
Email: jalbrecht@utah.gov
Mobile: 435-689-0229

Gernice White
Email: gernice@utah.gov
Work: 435-893-4764

Statewide Utilities Manager

Garret Jenson
Email: gjenson@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4284

Statewide Railroad

Jim Golden
Email: jimgolden@utah.gov
Mobile: 801-360-0052

Garret Jenson
Email: gjenson@utah.gov
Work: 801-965-4284