1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Project Development Division
  4. Preconstruction Division

Preconstruction Division

UDOT Preconstruction provides tools, training and support to ensure project success from design through completion.

Design and Standards

Manages the UDOT standards process, provides estimate support services, and directs the development of the emerging Digital Delivery process.

Contact Information

Vaughn Nelson
Statewide Preconstruction Engineer
Email: vanelson@utah.gov
801 910-2031 • Cell

George Lukes
Design and Standards Engineer
Email: glukes@utah.gov
801 965-4986 • Work
801 633-8186 • Cell

Roadway Design

Provides technical expertise to department and consultant designers.

Contact Information

George Lukes
Design and Standards Engineer
Email: glukes@utah.gov
801 965-4986 • Work
801 633-8186 • Cell

Becky Hjelm
Technology Advancement
Email: bhjelm@utah.gov
801 964-4456 • Work
801 386-4162 • Mobile

Bob Peterson
CADD
Email: bobpeterson@utah.gov
(801) 965-4041 • Work
(801) 633-9778 • Mobile

James Buckley
CADD
Email: jbuckley@utah.gov
801 965-4662 • Work
801 671-7535 • Mobile

Brad Yeates
Standards and Specifications
Email: bbyeates@utah.gov
801 965-4807 • Work
385 315-3872 • Mobile

Hydraulics

Oversees the hydraulics program and serves as a resource to the for UDOT regions.

Contact Information

Vaughn Nelson
Statewide Preconstruction Engineer
Email: vanelson@utah.gov
801 910-2031 • Cell

Brandon Cox
Statewide Hydraulics Engineer
Email: brandoncox@utah.gov
385 321-2608 • Cell

Consultant Services

Consultant Services is responsible for the procurement and administration of design and professional services necessary for UDOT programs and projects.

Contact Information

Gaye Hettrick
Consultant Services Manager
Email: ghettrick@utah.gov
801 965-4639 • Work
801 633-6213 • Mobile

Leslie Peterson
Consultant Services Supervisor
Email: lpeterson@utah.gov
801 965-4183 • Work
801 828-5554 • Mobile

Carlie Torres
Contract Administrator
Email: catorres@utah.gov
801 965-4387 • Work
385 270-7261 • Mobile

Cali Bastow
ROW Contract Administrator
Email: cbastow@utah.gov
801 965-4274 • Work
801 707-8332 • Mobile

Audrey D’Ambrusoso
Financial Screening Analyst
Email: adambruoso@utah.gov
801 965-4138 • Work
401 374-9254 • Mobile

Project Management

Provides tools and training for project managers’ teams.

Contact Information

Dave Schwartz
Statewide Program / Project Management Engineer
Email: dschwartz@utah.gov
801 910-2005 • Mobile

Transit Design

Oversees the development and implementation of standards related to transit facilities on state routes or for state-funded projects.

Contact Information

Jim Webb
Materials and Pavements Director
Email: jbwebb@utah.gov
801 230-7915 • Mobile

Right of Way Design

Develops and maintains processes and standards for the description of property needed for UDOT projects.

Contact Information

James Olschewski
Statewide Right-of-Way Design Program Engineer
Email: jolschewski@utah.gov
801 965-4821 • Work
801 953-4860 • Mobile

Utilities

Utilities Division is responsible for providing high-quality utility coordination throughout the state of Utah. Regional Utility Leaders and Coordinators work collaboratively with project teams and utility owners to identify potentially impacted utility facilities associated with UDOT’s highway projects. The regional utility staff coordinates the necessary relocation of the utility facilities employing nationwide best practices for effective utility coordination and cooperation.

Not to be confused with the Railroad Safety Division. (link to RSD button below)

Contact Information

Region 1

Tucker Doak
Email: jdoak@utah.gov
801-620-1660

Region 2

John Bangle
Email: jbangle@utah.gov
801-975-4994

Region 3

Austin Tripp
Email: atrip@utah.gov
801-227-8020

Region 4

Jeff Albrecht
Email: jalbrech@utah.gov
435-893-4732

Gernice White
Email: gernice@utah.gov
435-893-4764

Statewide Utilities Director 

Corey Nelson, PE, PTOE
Email: coreynelson@utah.gov
801-965-4083  

Statewide Railroad

Jim Golden
Email: jimgolden@utah.gov
801-360-0052  

Garret Jenson
Email: gjesonson@utah.gov(801) 910-2047  

Railroad Safety Division