1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Project Development Group
  4. Materials & Pavements Division

Materials & Pavements Division

Role

Ensuring high quality construction materials are incorporated into projects through qualified, certified, testing personnel and laboratories, as well as ensuring our pavement program and designs are optimized for preserving our infrastructure at the lowest life-cycle cost. 

Objectives

  • Provide performance specifications and quality assurance program for construction material.
  • Provide training and certification program for testing technicians and laboratories for acceptance testing of materials.
  • Collect, manage, analyze and report statewide pavement condition data for setting performance targets and determining pavement program funding needs.
    • Consistent pavement management and designs for the right pavement at the right time for predictable pavement performance.

Contact Information


William J. Lawrence
Materials and Pavements Director
Email: billlawrence@utah.gov
801-879-1993 (Cell)

L. Scott Nussbaum
State Engineer for Qualification and Materials
Email: snussbaum@utah.gov
801-726-9065 (Cell)

Concrete & Steel Section

Jason Richins
Concrete & Steel Engineer
Email: jtrichins@utah.gov
801-360-4985 (Cell)


Jason Nance
UDOT Chemist
Email:jasonnance@utah.gov
385-321-3627


Karen Paulsen
Aggregate Lab Technician
Email:kpaulsen@utah.gov
801-633-6234 (Cell)


Jeremy Price
Structural Steel QA Coordinator
Email:jeremyprice@utah.gov
801-633-6266 (Cell)


Nick Romero
Structural Steel Inspector
Email:nickromero@utah.gov
801-633-6265 (Cell)


Lohn Smalley
Structural Steel Inspector
Email:lsmalley@utah.gov
385-235-2697 (Cell)


Scott Strader
Pre-cast Inspection Manager
Email:sstrader@utah.gov
385-226-2457 (Cell)


Vacant
Pre-cast Inspector


Daniel Guzman
Pre-cast Inspector
Email:dguzman@utah.gov
801-759-6805 (Cell)

Implementation Section

Bin Shi
Implementation Engineer
Email:bshi@utah.gov
801-633-6260 (Cell)


D. Scott Potter
Database and Process Analyst Engineer
Email: dspotter@utah.gov
801-647-3459 (Cell)


Tim Wozab
Approved Products Coordinator
Email:twozab@utah.gov
801-633-7619

Asphalt Section


Howard Anderson
Asphalt Engineer
Email:handerson@utah.gov
801-633-8770 (Cell)


Dave Thomas
Lead Binder Technician
Email:davethomas@utah.gov
801-633-6241 (Cell)


Mike Evans
Asphalt Lab Technician
Email:michaelevans@utah.gov
801-633-6264 (Cell)


Trevor Vlam
Asphalt Lab Technician
Email:tvlam@utah.gov
801-815-9644 (Cell)


Clark Allen
Lead Asphalt Mix Lab Technician
Email:clarkallen@utah.gov
801-633-6261 (Cell)


Larry Ivie
Asphalt Mix Lab Technician
Email:larryivie@utah.gov
801-633-5272 (Cell)

Quality Assurance Section


Glen Clark
Quality Assurance Engineer
Email:gclark@utah.gov
801-910-2571 (Cell)


Amy Poloni Rico
Quality Systems Engineer
Email:arico@utah.gov
801-633-0623 (Cell)


Ross Raleigh
Lab Certification Specialist
Email:rraleigh@utah.gov
801-633-6263 (Cell)


Tyler Lake
Lab Equipment Certification Specialist
Email:tylerlake@utah.gov
385-222-5159 (Cell)


Vacant
TTQP Certification Coordinator


Glenn Tarrant
TTQP Certification Specialist
Email:gtarrant@utah.gov
801-455-5370 (Cell)


Gilbert Arrendondo
TTQP Certification Specialist
Email:garredondo@utah.gov
801-633-6269 (Cell)

Michael White
TTQP Certification Specialist
Email:mwhite@utah.gov
801-889-7348 (Cell)

Pavement Section


Austin Baysinger
State Pavement Management Engineer
Email:abaysinger@utah.gov
801-965-4846


Gang Guo
Pavement Modeling Engineer
Email:gguo@utah.gov
801-618-7947 (Cell)


Jason Simmons
State Pavement Engineer
Email:jasonsimmons@utah.gov
801-910-2090 (Cell)


Lauriane Collins
State Pavement Design Engineer
Email: Iwales@utah.gov
385-831-4967 (Cell)


Jeff Saddler
Materials Training and Pavement Technician
Email:jsaddler@utah.gov
801-633-8676 (Cell)

Tactical Measures

Asphalt Section
Role
Promote high quality excellent performing asphalt pavement materials.

Objective
Develop performance specifications that drive high quality long lasting asphalt pavement materials.

Tactical Measures

Concrete and Steel Section
Role
Promote high quality excellent performing concrete and steel, materials and products.
Objective
Develop performance specifications that drive high quality long lasting concrete and steel materials.

Tactical Measures

Implementation Section
Role
Promote high quality and excellent performing materials used on UDOT projects. Improve project quality and project management.

Objective
Develop Materials Database and Product Approval program.

Tactical Measures

Pavement Management Section(Pavements)
Role
Design and maintain high quality, cost-effective pavements

Objective
  • Design pavement with the low life-cycle cost and predictable pavement performance
  • Consistent & transparent management of pavements that consider local conditions, including: pavement design, pavement type, materials specifications, and strategies for preservation and rehabilitation
  • Planned and documented innovation that includes analysis and a continuous improvement approach
  • Maintain pavements by applying the right treatment at the right time

Tactical Measures

Pavement Management Section(Pavement Management)
Role
The Pavement Management section manages several efforts that are key to the development of the pavement projects for the Preservation, Rehabilitation, and Reconstruction programs. The Section’s primary responsibility is to support the region offices in developing these programs.

Objective
  • Maintain and operate the dtims pavement management system
  • Collect, manage, analyze and report the statewide pavement condition data
  • Establish the pavement condition performance targets and the management strategies to meet them
  • Determine the pavement program funding needs and the funding allocations for each region.

Tactical Measures

Quality Assurance Section
Role
Ensure accurate acceptance testing of roadway materials through technician certification, laboratory qualification, and ongoing competency evaluation. This enables quality measures that promote consistency and appropriate decision-making to preserve infrastructure.

Objective
  • Certify materials testing technicians for Department, Contractor, Supplier, and Consultant employees involved in materials acceptance testing for roadway materials.
  • Qualify Department, Contractor, Supplier, and Consultant laboratories for use in acceptance testing for roadway materials.
  • Monitor continuing technician competency through an Independent Assurance testing program.
  • Provide laboratory qualification, inspection services, and equipment support.

Green Initiatives